Switching SF

General Discussion for SMART Scholarship Recipients
Zoe64493

Switching SF

Post by Zoe64493 »

So as a little bit of background, I am an Aerospace engineering student and a phase 0 smart scholar. Even though I am an aerospace major and I am required to take about 1 cs class, I was assigned to the IT department of an airforce base. Which I have little to no interest in being tied to for the next 8 years. So my question is, is there any way to switch SFs? Has anyone done it successfully?

thx

Re: Switching SF

Post by Guest »

LCMC?

Zoe64493

Post by Zoe64493 »

Guest wrote:
Fri Apr 09, 2021 10:52 pm
LCMC?
?

Post by Guest »

?

smart

Post by smart »

Which I have little to no interest in being tied to for the next 8 years.
How do you come up with 8 years? The SMART limit is 5. It is a recommended practice to not be in the smart program for more than a few years. If you end up in a job you hate, you are stuck for the service requirement.
So my question is, is there any way to switch SFs? Has anyone done it successfully?
There are stories of people switching SFs, but not for reasons such as not liking your job. Or at least those are rare. You can search these forums and find plenty of horror stories of people hating their jobs or SFs and being stuck there. Once you start accepting funding from SMART, assume you are locked into that position.

I doubt there is a way to change to change SFs in phase 0.

If you are Phase 0 and do not like the SF or potential future job, wait until after the SF visit to judge to learn more. If you are positive you will not enjoy the job, decline the award - unless you are willing to trade the scholarship and stipend for years of a bad job.

Zoe64493 wrote:
Fri Apr 09, 2021 11:15 pm
Guest wrote:
Fri Apr 09, 2021 10:52 pm
LCMC?
?
I'm assuming: Life Cycle Management Center

human234895

Post by human234895 »

Zoe64493 wrote:
Fri Apr 09, 2021 2:54 pm